Methamphetamine Drug Laws in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, you can be arrested and charged for the unlawful possession of methamphetamine in any amount, no matter how small. Categories of methamphetamine laws in Oklahoma include:
• Possession of methamphetamine
• Dealing, selling or distribution of methamphetamine
• Manufacture of methamphetamine
• Trafficking of methamphetamine
The state of Oklahoma must prove different elements to obtain a conviction for each of the above charges, and each charge is punished differently. It is important to be aware that Oklahoma has some of the toughest drug laws in the country, so it is essential that you explore representation options for you or your loved one as soon as possible.
Under Oklahoma law, methamphetamine is a Schedule 2 drug. The police can arrest you if any amount of methamphetamine, even trace or residue amounts, is found in your possession.
Possession of methamphetamine is a misdemeanor offense; it may be punished by a maximum fine of $1,000 and no more than one year in jail.
Distribution or Possession with Intent to Manufacture or Distribute
Distributing or possessing with the intent to distribute or manufacture methamphetamine is a felony in Oklahoma. So, too, is involving an individual under the age of 18 in distributing or attempting to distribute this drug. The penalties for conviction are two years to life in prison and a maximum fine of up to $20,000.
Aggravated Manufacturing includes higher amounts of drugs and carries a stricter penalty. Under Oklahoma law, aggravated manufacturing charges can be filed if more than 50 grams of methamphetamine are involved.
The penalties for an aggravated manufacturing conviction include 20 years to life in prison and a maximum fine of $50,000. You will be required to serve 85% of your sentence before being eligible for parole.
Methamphetamine Trafficking in Oklahoma
Trafficking methamphetamine carries various penalties, depending on the amount of drug in question and whether or not you have any prior drug charges on your record.
The fines for this charge are as follows:
• 20 grams or more: a fine between $25,000 and $250,000
• 200 grams or more: fine of $50,000 to $500,000
• 450 grams or more: fine of $50,000 to $200,000
If the offense occurs within 2,000 feet of a school or public park, the sentence and fine are doubled.
If you are convicted of aggravated trafficking, you will be sentenced to a prison term of 15 years to life and must serve 85% of the sentence before being eligible for parole.