Domestic Abuse Defined
In Oklahoma, assault and battery against a person with whom you have a relationship or share a household may be considered domestic abuse. Under our state’s law, assault and battery against any of the following may fall under this category:
- Your spouse
- Your former spouse
- Your current spouse’s former spouse
- Your former spouse’s current spouse
- Other family members (parent, child, aunt, uncle, cousin, father or mother of your child, etc.)
- Current or former romantic partner
- Current or former roommate
- Any other current or former member of your household
What Are the Penalties for Domestic Abuse?
In most cases, first-offense domestic abuse will be charged as a misdemeanor. The penalties for conviction include a fine of up to $5,000 and up to one year in prison. Additionally, all convictions of domestic abuse, domestic assault, and domestic assault and battery in Oklahoma will require 52 weeks of domestic abuse counseling and treatment.
If you already have a prior domestic abuse conviction on your record or there are certain aggravating factors in the case, you may be faced with a felony charge.