Cocaine Drug Laws
In Oklahoma, you can be charged for the unlawful possession of cocaine in any amount, no matter how small. Charges involving cocaine include:
• Possession of Cocaine
• Dealing, Selling, or Distribution of Cocaine
• Manufacture of Cocaine
• Trafficking of Cocaine
Under Oklahoma law, cocaine is a Schedule 2 drug. The police can arrest you for any amount of cocaine found in your possession. Possession of cocaine is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and no more than one year in jail.
Distribution or Possession of Cocaine with Intent to Distribute
You will be charged with a felony if you distribute or transport cocaine or if you solicit a minor under the age of 18 to assist you. If you are convicted, you can be punished by two years to life in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000.
Aggravated Manufacturing of Cocaine
You can be charged with aggravated manufacturing of cocaine for manufacturing large quantities of the drug, ranging from five kilograms to over 50 grams. The penalties for aggravated manufacturing include:
• 20 years to life in prison
• Fine of $50,000
You must complete at least 85% of your sentence before being eligible for parole.
The penalties for trafficking cocaine are broken down based on the amount of the drug involved.
• 28 grams or more: fine of $25,000 to $100,000
• 300 grams or more: fine of $100,000 to $500,000
A conviction for aggravated trafficking will result in a 15-year prison term. You will have to complete 85% or more of your sentence before being eligible for parole.
It is important to note that the prison term for any manufacture charge can double for repeat offenders. In addition, if trafficking was committed within 2,000 feet of a school or public park, both the sentence and fine will double.