Heroin Drug Laws
In Oklahoma, you can be charged and arrested for the unlawful possession of any amount of heroin. Oklahoma’s heroin laws include:
• Possession of Heroin
• Dealing, Selling, or Distribution of Heroin
• Manufacture of Heroin
• Trafficking of Heroin
Each of these offenses involves many specific elements and is punished differently. If you are facing drug charges involving heroin, it is important to find an experienced drug crime defense attorney to help protect your rights and build an effective defense in your case.
Heroin is a Schedule 1 drug under Oklahoma law. The police can arrest you for any amount of heroin, even trace or residue amounts, found in your possession. Possession of heroin is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of no more than $1,000 and a maximum jail sentence of one year.
Distribution or Possession with Intent to Distribute
Distributing or transporting with an intent to dispense or distribute heroin is a felony in Oklahoma, as is using or soliciting a person under the age of 18 to commit this crime. Distribution or possession with intent to distribute is punishable by two years in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000.
Aggravated Manufacturing includes higher amounts of drugs and carries a stricter penalty than standard manufacturing charges. Oklahoma law considers aggravated manufacturing to mean creating one kilogram or more of a mixture or substance containing a detectable amount of heroin.
Aggravated manufacturing is punishable by up to 20 years to life in prison and a maximum fine of $50,000. If convicted, you will be required to serve 85% of your sentence before becoming eligible for parole.
Trafficking over 10 grams of heroin is subject to serious fines, depending on the amount in question. Under Oklahoma law:
• 10 grams or more: a fine of $25,000 to $50,000
• 28 grams or more: a fine of $50,000 to $500,000
If trafficking is committed within 2,000 feet of a school or public park, the sentence and fine will be doubled.