Driving Under the Influence

Please read the new Oklahoma DUI Laws.

A conviction of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can impact your life in ways that you may not have expected or thought about. Along with potential jail time, license penalties and high fines, you may suffer collateral consequences such as the loss of your job, trouble in your personal relationships and ineligibility for future opportunities.

The Crime

In order to convict you of DUI, the state must show that you were under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicating substances while driving a motor vehicle upon any publicly accessible roadway. The legal blood alcohol content is .08, unless you are under the age of 21. Minors may be convicted if they have a breath or blood alcohol level of .02% or more.

The Punishment

If you are found guilty of first-offense DUI, you could face:

  • A jail sentence between 10 days and one year
  • A fine of up to $1,000 plus court costs
  • Mandatory attendance of a victim impact panel
  • Mandatory alcohol assessment and completion of all recommended treatments
  • Community service
  • Drivers license suspension of six months
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device

Administrative vs. Criminal Penalties

The penalties listed above are the potential consequences of the criminal act of driving under the influence. However, every DUI triggers two separate cases—a criminal charge and an administrative proceeding by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, commonly referred to as DPS.

The DPS will attempt to suspend your drivers license for anywhere between 180 days and three years, depending on your previous record. Moreover, if you refused the test or had a BAC of .15% or more, you will be required to have an ignition interlock in your vehicle for an additional 18 months after your 180-day suspension. If you have prior revocations on your record, you could be looking at a required interlock for four to five years after license reinstatement.

Free Case Evaluation