Oklahoma Prostitution Laws

Though it is said to be the oldest profession in the world, prostitution is illegal in almost all of the United States. There are several charges relating to prostitution in Oklahoma, including:

  • Engaging in prostitution
  • Soliciting prostitution
  • Pimping
  • Maintaining or renting a prostitution house

Prostitution Defined

The basic definition of prostitution is exchanging any type of sexual contact for money or anything else of value. The charge of soliciting prostitution refers to the bargaining of the exchange, which is often done through a third party called a pimp.

Under Oklahoma law, all three of these players—the prostitute, the person paying the prostitute (referred to as a “john”) and the pimp—may be criminally charged for acts involving prostitution. Property owners who either maintain or rent the structure in which prostitution takes place can also be held criminally liable.

Potential Penalties

The penalties for prostitution depend on your role in the exchange (prostitute/john, pimp or property owner) as well as your criminal history. Typically, a first-offense prostitution or solicitation charge is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. However, if the crime occurred within 1,000 feet of a church or school, it may be charged as a felony. This can result in up to five years in prison.

The crime of pimping, which is officially called pandering under Oklahoma law, is punishable by two to 20 years in prison and a fine of as much as $9,000.

Maintaining or renting a prostitution house may be charged as a misdemeanor.

Free Case Evaluation