Schedule I Drugs in Oklahoma
Facing schedule I drug charges in Oklahoma is a serious offense, however the laws have relaxed in recent years.
- Simple possession of a small amount of Schedule I or II drugs other than marijuana used to be considered a felony that carried a prison sentence of up to five years and a fine of up to $5000.
- Today, simple possession of any drug is considered a misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of one year and a fine of $1000.
- There is no difference in the penalty based on the number of past charges. Whether it’s the first or the 15th time you’ve been charged with simple possession, the charge is still a misdemeanor.
That said, the penalties for possession with intent to distribute can still be severe based on the schedule of the drug.
What is the drug schedule in Oklahoma?
The Federal Government classifies drugs on a scale from I through V based on their medicinal value, potential for abuse, and dangerous or addictive qualities. Oklahoma uses these same schedules to classify drugs and prosecute drug crimes.
What is considered to be a schedule I drug in Oklahoma?
Drugs with a low potential for abuse and accepted medical uses fall into schedule IV or V and are typically over-the-counter drugs like allergy medications. Highly addictive drugs with no medicinal value are classified as schedule I. These include drugs like:
If you are facing schedule I drug charges, you need to work with an experienced attorney right away to discuss your options and next steps. The difference between simple possession and possession with intent to distribute could mean the next five years of your life. Under certain circumstance, the conviction on drug charges can cause a loss of professional certificates and licenses as well as your Oklahoma driver’s license. Contact the Hunsucker Legal Group today to schedule a free review of your case.