Child Prostitution Laws in Oklahoma
There are a number of acts related to prostitution that may be criminally charged in Oklahoma, including:
- Soliciting a prostitute, and
- Engaging in the act of prostitution
Typically, these offenses are considered misdemeanors. However, there are certain circumstances under which the charge may be increased to a felony and the potential penalties considerably heightened.
Soliciting or Engaging in Prostitution With a Minor
Acts of prostitution or soliciting prostitution that involve a person under the age of 16 are considered child prostitution. These felony offenses carry up to 10 years in prison for conviction.
Pimping a Minor
A person who barters the exchange of sexual contact for money on behalf of the prostitute is referred to as a pimp—the official name for the crime of pimping is “pandering.” If the prostitute is under the age of 18, the pimp can be charged with trafficking in children, a felony that carries a 10-year prison sentence and up to $20,000 fine.
The state may try to levy other charges in cases involving child prostitution. Related charges can include:
- Contributing to the delinquency of a minor
- Transporting a child under 18 for the purpose of prostitution
- Indecent or lewd acts with a child under 16