Oklahoma Sex Offender Registration
In Oklahoma, you will be required to register as a sex offender if you plead guilty or no contest to or are convicted of a sex crime. Registering as a sex offender allows law enforcement to know where you are and alert the public when they feel that children are at risk. Being a registered sex offender can also have devastating impacts on your personal life and professional career, and it is imperative to seek legal counsel if you are facing criminal sexual charges.
What is the Process?
Within three business days of your conviction, you must register in person with the Department of Corrections and local law enforcement. When you move to a new area and intend to live there for seven days or more, or if you change jobs or go from being a student to an employee (or vice versa), you must also register. The time frame for which you remain on the registry depends on how you were classified:
- Level 1 requires registration for 15 years; this level is considered the lowest threat to children and the community
- Level 2 offenders are considered a moderate threat to the community and deemed likely to reoffend; this level requires registration for 25 years
- Level 3 is considered a serious danger to the community; this level requires lifetime registration
In some cases, you may be required to wear a GPS monitoring unit on your ankle to track your movement or to provide a blood or saliva sample in order to have a DNA profile on record.
What if I Don’t Register?
Violating any provision of the Oklahoma Sex Crime Registration Act is a felony, and this crime may net you a $5,000 fine and up to five years in jail.
Not complying with required GPS monitoring could cost you $1,000 and/or a year in jail.