What are the potential penalties for domestic abuse and/or domestic assault and battery in Oklahoma?
Answer: So domestic abuse, the first domestic abuse you get in Oklahoma, that’s a misdemeanor. Carries up to a year in the county and up to a $5,000 fine, or both. Now, if you repeat it, it becomes a felony, and just depending on what the number is, you’re looking at a felony carrying a nywhere up to four and then it keeps on going up from there. And then domestic; so assault and battery domestic on that would be a penalty of up to 10 years in the pen, at that point with the department of corrections and there is not really a fine on that. It’s pretty much a jail time offense.